Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Denver Criminal Defense Attorney  – Our criminal defense attorney team can help you or a loved one. If, you or someone close to you needs a Colorado criminal defense attorney, contact us immediately.  Charged in Colorado with burglary, robbery and/or theft?

Get an experienced Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer on your side.

Burglary, robbery, and theft in Colorado are serious offenses. Do not plead guilty. Second, do not try to represent yourself. Third, do not go to Court without an experienced Colorado Criminal Defense Lawyer.

Burglary is committed when a person “enters or remains unlawfully” in or upon premises of another. If no license, invitation, or otherwise privileged to do so, it’s burglary.

Furthermore, robbery is committed when a person knowingly takes anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats, or intimidation. In addition, robbery is a Felony offense.

Theft is committed when a person knowingly obtains or exercises control over anything of value of another without authorization, or by threat or deception, and: intends to permanently deprive or demand consideration to which he is not legally entitled. Theft over $500 is a felony offense; but less than $500 is a misdemeanor offense.

Felonies have penalties which can include incarceration, jail, probation, restitution, useful public service hours, fine and Court costs.

Misdemeanors have penalties which can include jail, probation, restitution, useful public service hours, fine and Court costs.

Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

People need to work with Colorado criminal defense attorneys for a variety of reasons. We work with clients who are in a tough bind.

Being scared of the unknown is a natural feeling, but it is important for you to hire a qualified Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney as soon as possible. All of our team members are caring and understanding individuals who have your best interests in mind!

If, for instance, you need a Colorado domestic violence lawyer in Boulder, we can help right away. Lastly, the sooner you contact us regarding your case, the more assistance we can provide, so don’t delay!

Click on the photo below to speak with an experienced  Denver Criminal Defense Attorney 

 

 Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Denver Criminal Defense Attorney

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest – If a Denver police officer seeks to arrest you for drunk driving, he/she must first obtain probable cause to do so. Probable Cause means that a person is about to commit, in the process of committing, or has committed a crime. Police officers use field sobriety tests and/or roadside breath test to establish probable cause during a traffic stop. The physical evidence gathered from the tests allow the police officer to take a person into custody to conduct further testing at the local station. Read on to learn more about how police officers establish probable cause to arrest Denver and Boulder residents for drunk driving. Contact our Denver DUI Attorney for a free criminal defense consultation.

Initial Traffic Stop
Prior to ascertaining probable cause to make an arrest, a police officer will first pull a driver over for violating a traffic ordinance. For example, say a person was speeding and switching lanes without using any signals. The police officer would pull the driver over to cite him/her and possibly conduct an investigation into his/her conduct.

Now, a police officer is trained to inspect the external/internal contents of a vehicle including the driver. If the police officer  if he/she believes the driver may be impaired they will look for signs of intoxication. Such signs consists of bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, or the smell of alcohol. Based on such signs, the officer may ask a series of questions to determine if the driver may have consumed any alcohol. Depending on the driver’s responses, the police officer may request for the driver to step out of his/her vehicle and perform a series of field sobriety tests.

 

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Field Sobriety Tests
As mentioned above, Colorado and Denver police officers use field sobriety tests to determine if a driver is impaired.  Three standardized field sobriety tests commonly used to measure levels of intoxication:

The Walk-and-Turn Test

One-Leg Stand Test

The Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus Test

The police officer is trained to look for indicators of impairment while a driver is performing the tests. For example, if the driver is unable to walk-and-turn heel-to-toe, or cannot manage to stand on one leg, such indicators suggest he/she is impaired. If a driver fails say 2 out of 3 test indicators, the police officer will have probable cause to take him/her into custody for further investigation at the station.

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

In addition to the field sobriety tests, the police officer may request for the driver to take a roadside breath test. If the driver’s blood alcohol content is above the legal limit, the police officer will have probable cause to arrest the driver. At the police station, more testing will occur. The driver may have to undergo an urine, blood, or breath test. If the results of these test show that the driver is intoxicated, he/she will be charged with drunk driving.

Hire A Denver DUI Attorney
If you or a loved one has recently been charged with drunk driving in the Colorado or Denver area, contact us to speak with a Colorado DUI Attorney. Our DUI Attorneys can review Denver Drunk Driving Arrest case and provide you with possible defenses to challenge the officer’s probable cause.

 The evidence gathered will be deemed inadmissible to present at trial, during the initial interrogation, If successful.

Click on the picture below to have a Colorado DUI Attorney contact you!

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Denver Drunk Driving Arrest

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

Colorado-Domestic-Violence-Attorneys

 

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

 

 

Being arrested for Domestic Violence in Colorado can be devastating to the person arrested.  In Colorado, domestic violence is considered the act or threat of violence between two people who have shared an intimate relationship. According to Colorado law, an intimate relationship is defined as a relationship between spouses, former spouses, past or present unmarried couples, or persons who are both the parents of the same child regardless of whether the persons have been married or have lived together at any time.

What most people don’t realize is that domestic violence is used by the courts to increase punishment for other crimes.  Many criminal acts can be used as the initial charge in a domestic violence prosecution in Colorado.  You may be charged with assault, stalking or harassment. Each of these would be considered a separate charge and domestic violence used to increase the sentence for these crimes.

In addition, you don’t necessarily need to physically harm someone to be charged with domestic violence. Breaking property, threatening someone, texting or calling repeatedly, or even using obscene language can result in a charge. To make matters worse, Colorado is considered a mandatory arrest state. You need to know, if police are called, someone is going to jail. If you are contacted by police for domestic violence in Colorado and believe you may be arrested, don’t make any statement!

A domestic violence conviction will result in harsh penalties.  The penalties for domestic violence in Colorado include up to two years in jail, one or more years of probation, 36-weeks of domestic violence counseling, and a court-issued protection order that prohibits you from contacting or coming within a certain distance of the victim.  A protection order and domestic violence conviction can also impact future contact with your child or children. If you were charged with felony domestic violence, you may also face time in the state prison.

 

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

 

A person with domestic violence-related convictions will be prevented from ever possessing firearms under either the Brady Bill or Lautenberg Amendment. While for some people, this may not seem a matter of concern, however for sportsmen or those who are in the military, law enforcement or security professions, a domestic violence conviction will adversely affect the rest of his or her life.

Many people also believe that the alleged victim can just drop the charges.  In Colorado domestic violence cases, prosecutors cannot drop domestic violence charges unless they determine it would be impossible to prove the case in a trial.  Even if the alleged victim of domestic violence in Colorado tells the court that they don’t want charges to be filed, the District Attorney is not permitted to drop a case resulting from domestic violence.  Your case will not be dismissed just because you have made up with your accuser.

In some jurisdictions, Colorado law requires that all offenders charged with domestic violence must be held in custody until advised by the court. The Fast Track program allows offenders to meet with a Deputy District Attorney at the first court appearance Although the Fast Track program states it is in place to allow for early intervention and treatment of the offender and safe participation of the victim, in reality, the domestic violence fast track  was designed by prosecutors and special interest groups to coerce a defendant into pleading guilty prior to ever speaking to an attorney.

Do not do anything without consulting with an experienced Colorado domestic violence attorney first if you have been arrested. Only experienced Colorado domestic violence lawyers can help you understand the possible consequences you are facing and  help you navigate the legal system to get the best possible resolution to your situation. The Colorado domestic violence laws are complex and difficult to navigate, however, in most cases an experienced domestic violence defense attorney can help a client receive the best resolution and reduction in charges and penalties.

If you, a friend, or family member needs an experienced Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyer NOW, click on the image below

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

Colorado Domestic Violence Lawyers

 

Colorado Marijuana DUI Lawyers

Colorado Marijuana DUI Lawyers

Colorado Marijuana DUI Lawyers

 

The Rudiments:

  • Under federal law it is still illegal to use and possess marijuana(THC). However, these constraints were taken out of the equation in January 2014 from Colorado law for individuals age 21 and older.
  • In Colorado, it is illegal to consume marijuana on any public roadway.
  • Any amount of marijuana consumption will put you at risk for DUI- could reach upwards of $10,000 in costs and legal fees.

 

 

Marijuana In Vehicles

 

  • Colorado’s open container law applies to marijuana. It is illegal to transport marijuana in the passenger area of a vehicle if it is an open container, with a broken seal, or if there is evidence marijuana has been consumed.
  • Impaired drivers with children present in the vehicle will also be charged with child abuse.

Colorado Marijuana DUI Lawyers

 

Although it is legal to use and possess marijuana in Colorado for persons 21 and older, it is still illegal to consume marijuana on any public roadway.  Any consumption will put you at risk for DUI-more than $10,000 in costs.

If you choose to consume marijuana, you should know Colorado’s open container law applies-it is illegal to transport marijuana in the passenger area of your vehicle if it is in an open container, a container with a broken seal or if there is evidence marijuana has been consumed. If you are driving impaired with children present in the vehicle, you will also be charged with child abuse.

After an arrest, the officer observed impairment can serve as evidence.  A blood test will be performed to determine the amount of active THC in your blood. A level of 5 nanograms or more can serve as evidence of impairment.  Regardless of conviction, refusing a blood test will result in two years of level two alcohol education as well as the installation of ignition interlock apparatus.

 

Click on the picture for criminal defense help

Colorado Marijuana DUI Lawyers